Annual Congregational Meeting, 18 May 2014 Approved Minutes

David Mayfield, president, called the meeting to order at 12.05pm.

Fern Hamlin, secretary, determined that a quorum was present. 52 members were present plus proxies for 11 members.

Chip Roush, minister, delivered the opening.

Volunteers of the Year. For dedicated service to the process of acquiring a new building, the chair people of the three task forces – Joseph Gress, Construction Task Force; Bill Skidmore, Capital Campaign Task Force; Barb Carmichael, Design Task Force – were honored as this year's volunteers of the year.

Approval of congregational meeting minutes of 19 May 2013, 8 December 2013, and 6 April 2014. Tom Platt moved, Chuck Leone seconded, that the minutes be approved. Carried by voice vote.

Approval of 2014-15 budget. Tom Platt moved, and Florence Klecka seconded, that the budget be approved. Elizabeth Scarborough noted that she will vote to approve the budget but is nonetheless troubled by the projected \$21,000 deficit. She asked how firm the pledge line item of \$131,000 is. Gail deSomer, vice-president, confirmed that it was a firm figure, noting that the deficit is a real concern and that there may be the need to ask for additional pledge money. Carried by voice vote.

Calling Chip Roush as our settled minister. Kay Azar moved, and Tom Platt seconded, the motion that we call Chip Roush as our settled minister. Discussion ensued. Heather Eschbach voiced her support based on having worked with three ministers as DRE. Tama Crisovan asked what will happen if the vote is not successful; David Mayfield said that Chip would still have one more year with us. Jan Wilen asked if the search committee was supposed to make a recommendation; David answered that the timeframe for calling Chip as settled minister is in the contract. Roger Birdsell asked if negotiations were possible if Chip is called; David answered that the current contract would continue if Chip accepts the call. Kevin Barry, speaking as chair of the new committee on ministry, affirmed Chip's commitment to our congregation and his desire to have his family here. Endorsements were also given by Anne Mannix, Elizabeth Scarborough, Lynn McDonald, Marilyn Shaul, and others. Paper ballots were distributed. The motion carried with one abstention.

Approval of by-law amendment. Kevin Barry moved, and Karen Dickson seconded, the proposed by-law amendment for Article VII, Section 1. Gail

deSomer moved a friendly amendment which Karen Dickson seconded. David Mayfield explained that a board clerical mistake had necessitated the friendly amendment. Bill Stevens asked if the alternate would be a full member of the nominating committee. The answer was no, the alternate is chosen so that s/he can complete the committee if a member can't serve. Jim Curlee asked if it was clear that the past president would only serve on the committee for one year; the answer was yes. Carried by voice vote.

Elections. For the nominating committee, Chuck Leone moved and Bill Stevens seconded that Mark Kricheff would serve one year and Janet Bogar would serve two years. The motion to accept the entire slate with the amendment to the nominating committee was made by Chuck, seconded by Bill. Carried by voice vote.

Recognition of 2013-14 board. David offered his thanks to his board and encouraged all who want to learn more about how our church works to serve on the board.

Other Business. Chuck offered thanks on behalf of us all to David for his service as president during an exceptional year.

Kevin Barry moved and Rich Wallace seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting was adjourned at 12.50pm.

Fern Hamlin Board secretary