Annual Congregational Meeting First Unitarian Church of South Bed May 19, 2013 Approved Minutes

Meeting was called to order at 12:10pm with President Bob Asplund presiding.

The Acting Secretary confirmed that a <u>quorum</u> had been reached with a total of 62 eligible votes for conducting business.

Members signing in included: Bette Asplund, Robert Asplund, Kay Azar, Alice Bentley, Mary Bethe, Roger Birdsell, Glenda Bixby, Janet Bogar, Barbara Boyd, Barbara Carmichael, Darlene Catello, Ann Cope, Bob Cope, Brendan Crumlish, Jim Curlee, Allen deSomer, Gail deSomer, Cathy Duncan, Heather Eschbach, Dan French, Jayne Gall, Jim Gall, Dale Gibson, Glenda Gibson, James Gibson, Joseph Gress, Dan Groteke, Mary Hagen, Brook Hardy, John Hardy, Mary Alice Hardy, Florence Klecka, Chuck Leone, Donald Marti, David Mayfield, Lynn McDonald, Gary Metzler, Eric Morgan, Kathy Platt, Elizabeth Scarborough, John Sherck, Lauren Coil-Sherck, Bill Skidmore, Melanie Smith-Guillaume, Bill Stevens, Peggy Stevens, Lois Stiffler, Pat Taplick, Walt Tomasch, Ellen Triebold, Alexandra Trusov, Susan Van Fleit, Kathy Vetter, Richard Wallace, John Wegener, Julie Wells, Janice Wilen, Barbara Williams, and David Wistreich. Proxies were held for 3 members.

Rev. Sian Wilshire, interim minister, gave opening remarks and a reading.

Following comments from Pres Asplund on the various uncertainties faced now by the congregation (e.g. ministerial search, an unbalanced budget being proposed for 2013-14, purchase offer extended for 801 E. Washington property, concerns about how to meet expenses for a possible purhase), he noted that the member selected by the Board of Trustees to receive the <u>Volunteer of the Year</u> <u>Award</u> has played pivotal roles in each of these efforts. The announcement of Chuck Leone for the2013 award brought enthusiastic applause from those present.

<u>Approval of minutes</u> of three congregational meetings were approved by unopposed voice votes.

A. Roger Birdsell moved acceptance of the May 20, 2012 Annual
Meeting minutes, seconded by David Wistreich, with correction that
references to Dave Barry in item XI should be changed to Kevin
Barry.

B. Roger Birdsell moved acceptance of the March 17, 2013 Special Meeting minutes, seconded by Marilyn Shaul.

C. Roger Birdsell moved acceptance of the April 13, 2013 Special Meeting minutes, seconded by Dan Groteke.

<u>Reports</u> from the minister, president, and treasurer were available in written form in the Annual Report document, distributed to attendees upon entering the meeting location. There was no discussion.

Treasurer Alice Bentley moved approval of the <u>2013-2014 budget</u> as printed in the Annual Report, seconded by Kay Azar. After some discussion, Rev. Wilshire responded to questions regarding the substantial projected deficit (\$11,236), saying that considering the range of uncertainties at this time, the proposed budget is a "worst case scenario." The motion passed by voice vote with one dissent.

Dale Gibson moved, seconded by Marilyn Shaul, approval of the proposed <u>amendment to the By-Laws</u> having to do specifying the agenda for annual meetings, modification of method for announcing any church congregational meeting, and providing for voting by proxy--as printed in the 2013 Annual Report. Motion passed with unopposed voice vote.

For consideration of those to serve in elected positions for the 2013-2014 church year David Wistreich presented the recommendations from the Nominating Committee. There were no nominations from the floor. <u>Elected were the following</u>, by voice vote with no dissent:

- Vice PresidentBette Asplund
- Treasurer (2-year term)......Karen Dickson
- Trustee (2-year term).....John Hardy
- Trustee (2-year term)......Dan Holm
- Endowment Committee......John Wegener

• Nominating Committee......Bob Asplund

Mark Kricheff

Wendy Lohman

Josh Wells, alternate

Dale Gibson reported for the Endowment Committee the recommendation that <u>two distributions</u> be made from the Endowment Fund this year.

Elizabeth Scarborough moved, seconded by John Wegener, that up to \$3500 be granted to supplement funds for the Youth Group to attend General Assembly in Louisville in June. Ellen Triebold responded to questions, explaining total projected costs for the trip and how additional funds were being raised. Motion passed by voice vote with no dissent.

Dale Gibson moved, seconded by Lynn McDonald, that \$3000 be granted to the Marketing Committe to support professional expertise for creating a new and interactive church website. Alexandra Trusov provided explanation and information. Motion passed by voice vote with no dissent.

President Asplund presented the Board of Trustees proposal to <u>authorize that</u> <u>\$150,000 be withdrawn from the Endowment Fund</u> for use in the purchase and renovation of the building located at 801 E. Washington Street. (Such use of endowment fund monies to meet an unanticipated emergency, being beyond the limits for normal annual distribution, would require a 2/3 affirmative vote of those members present)

Bette Asplund moved, seconded by Bob Cope, that the proposal be accepted. After considerable discussion, Barbara Williams moved, seconded by Glenda Bixby, an amendment that would permit the use

\$150,000 of endowment funds as collateral if needed for purchase or renovation. Following more discussion, Mary Bethe, seconded by Bill Stevens, moved to table the original motion until more information be available. On a hand vote, there were 28 in favor, 23 opposed. Motion to table passed.

<u>Committee reports</u>, printed in the Annual Report, were received only from Nominating, Children's Religious Education, Marketing, and Peace and Justice.

<u>Pres. Asplund commended and thanked the members of the 2012-2013 Board of</u> Trustees for their hard work and dedication, recognizing especially Alice Bentley for three years of service as Treasurer along with Rich Wallace and Mary Alice Hardy, who have also served on the Board in previous years. He recognized the members of the Ministerial Search Committee for the phenomenal service they rendered throughout the year.

There being no other business, motion to adjourn was made by Roger Birdsell, seconded by John Wegener, and passed by voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 1:50.

Respectfully submitted by Elizabeth Scarborough, Acting Secretary